In a historic moment at the Cricket World Cup 2023, Sri Lankan cricket star Angelo Mathews found himself in an unusual situation as he was declared ‘timed out’ during a crucial clash against Bangladesh in Delhi. This unprecedented dismissal created quite a buzz in the cricketing world, making Mathews the first player in international cricket history to be ruled ‘timed out.’
The Unusual Dismissal:
The incident unfolded in the 25th over of the match, with Bangladesh’s captain, Shakib al Hasan, delivering the second ball. Angelo Mathews had just taken the crease following the dismissal of Sadeera Samarawickrama, as Sri Lanka had lost its fourth wicket. However, the unexpected twist occurred when Mathews realized that he had the wrong helmet. He immediately appealed to the Bangladesh players and the umpires, highlighting the issue with his helmet strap.
Angelo Mathews became the first batter in international cricket to be dismissed in this manner 👀
— ICC (@ICC) November 6, 2023
Despite Mathews’ efforts to rectify the situation by sending a substitute player with the correct helmet, Bangladesh had already initiated an appeal for a ‘timed out.’ The appeal was not withdrawn, and the decision stood. Angelo Mathews, visibly frustrated, expressed his displeasure by tossing his helmet away upon leaving the field.
HISTORY IN DELHI….!!!
Angelo Mathews becomes the first cricketer in history to be out on ‘timed out’. pic.twitter.com/VRg1xmSTDf
— Mufaddal Vohra (@mufaddal_vohra) November 6, 2023
Historic Precedent: The concept of ‘timed out’ dismissals is a rarity in cricket, with Angelo Mathews becoming the first international player to experience this unique outcome. While first-class cricket has witnessed six such dismissals in the past, Mathews’ incident adds to the historical record of this unusual mode of dismissal.
MCC and World Cup Regulations:
The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) rules stipulate that after a wicket falls or a batter retires, the incoming batter must be prepared to receive the ball or enable the other batter to be ready to face the next delivery within 3 minutes of the previous dismissal or retirement. Failure to meet this requirement results in the batter being declared ‘Timed out.’ However, the Cricket World Cup 2023 has a slightly modified provision, allowing a 2-minute grace period.
Angelo Mathews’ ‘timed out’ dismissal at the Cricket World Cup 2023 will be etched in cricketing history as a rare and unusual occurrence. While it may have been a moment of frustration for Mathews and his fans, it adds an interesting chapter to the rich tapestry of cricket’s unique dismissals. The incident serves as a reminder that cricket continues to surprise us with its ever-evolving nuances and complexities.