30, November, 2023
HomeIndiaBJP Announces First List of 41 Candidates for Rajasthan Polls, Including 7 MPs

BJP Announces First List of 41 Candidates for Rajasthan Polls, Including 7 MPs

Published on

Jaipur: In a significant move, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has unveiled its initial list of 41 candidates for the upcoming Rajasthan elections, scheduled for November 23, with the results to be declared on December 3. This announcement comes hot on the heels of the Election Commission’s release of the poll dates.

The first list of candidates showcases a shrewd strategy, incorporating considerations of caste dynamics. Notably, MP Diya Kumari will vie for the Vidhyadhar Nagar constituency, replacing the sitting BJP MLA Narpat Singh Rajvi, who happens to be the son-in-law of the late Vice President Bhairon Singh Shekhawat, a BJP stalwart.

Another key replacement is Rajyavardhan Rathore, set to contest from Jhotwara, following the Congress’s victory over Rajpal Singh Shekhawat in the previous election.

Strategically, the BJP has deployed two popular MPs to challenge former BJP ministers who served in the previous Vasundhara Raje cabinet.

The seven MPs and their respective constituencies are as follows: Diya Kumari (Vidhyadhar Nagar), Bhagirath Choudhary (Kishangarh), Kirodi Lal Meena (Sawai Madhopur), Devji Patel (Sanchore), Narendra Kumar (Mandawa), Rajyavardhan Rathore (Jhotwara), and Baba Balaknath (Tijara).

The BJP has made a calculated move to tap into the Gujjar and Meena vote banks by fielding Vijay Bainsla, the son of Col Kirori Singh Bainsla, who spearheaded the Gujjar reservation movement, and MP Kirodi Lal Meena. These communities hold significant political influence, particularly in eastern Rajasthan, where the BJP faced challenges in the previous election.

The BJP’s candidate selection process took place during a meeting of the party’s Central Election Committee (CEC) on October 1, chaired by BJP chief JP Nadda and attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh.

Notably, PM Modi emphasized that the party symbol, the ‘lotus,’ would be the focal point rather than projecting any individual as the chief ministerial candidate.

As Rajasthan gears up for the polls, both the BJP and the Congress face the internal challenges of infighting and power struggles within their ranks. The BJP contends with rival factions associated with former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje and Union Minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat vying for prominence.

In a keenly awaited electoral battle, Rajasthan, known for its historical alternation between the Congress and the BJP since 1993, will see anti-incumbency as a significant factor. In the 2018 Assembly polls, the Congress secured 99 out of 199 seats, while the BJP won 73.

The political landscape is set for a fierce contest as Rajasthan prepares to cast its votes on November 23, with the outcome eagerly anticipated on December 3.

Latest articles

Veronika Rajek: The Model, the Confessions, and the Travis Kelce Twist

Ever caught wind of Veronika Rajek's name alongside Tom Brady and Travis Kelce and...

The Untold Story – Patrick Mahomes’ Parents, Pat Mahomes Sr. and Randi Martin and A Journey Beyond Marriage

Many fans crave insights into Patrick Mahomes' life, delving into the intriguing dynamics of...

LeBron James Surpasses Kareem Abdul-Jabbar’s NBA Minutes Record – A Glimpse into His Enduring Legacy and Future

LeBron James, the iconic player of the Los Angeles Lakers, recently achieved a historic...

More like this

Health Update on Actor-Politician Captain Vijayakanth – Hospitalized Due to Deteriorating Health

Renowned Tamil actor and politician, Captain Vijayakanth, has been facing health challenges recently, leading...

IMD Issues Cyclone Warning – Michaung Expected to Form Over Bay of Bengal by December 1

Forecasters from the India Meteorological Department (IMD) have raised alerts regarding a potential cyclone...

Bay of Bengal Braces for Cyclone ‘Michaung’, Heavy Rainfall Alert for Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh

Thursday, November 30: The Bay of Bengal, often dubbed the Bay of Sorrows, is...
Enable Notifications OK